A-League predictions for 2013-14

The dawn of the new A-League season is now upon us and what a cracking season it promises to be. Last season, we witnessed numerous ups and downs (pardon the idiomatic expression…); Central Coast Mariners won the A-League Championship for the first time. Also, Western Sydney Wanderers defied belief, breaking numerous records including longest winning streak, as they went on to become Minor Premiers and A-League runners-up in what was their inaugural season.

There were disappointments aplenty; Lucas Neill failed to impress, Melbourne Heart were lacklustre throughout after a promising pre-season, Sydney FC crumbled in the opening weeks and who could forget 3AW’s shock jock?

But with all of this seemingly behind us, the upcoming season promises to be the biggest and most exciting yet. And on that note, From The Stands asked several of expert football writers, from home and across the ditch, for some bold predictions for the ninth installment of Australia’s premier club competition – the A-League.


A-League Champions

Cronan Yu: Western Sydney Wanderers

Cam Gordon: Melbourne Victory

David Hards: Melbourne Victory

Laurence Rosen: Melbourne Victory

Daniel Palmer: Melbourne Victory

Simon Overall: Brisbane Roar


Minor Premiers:

Cronan Yu: Central Coast Mariners

Cam Gordon: Melbourne Victory

David Hards: Western Sydney Wanderers

Laurence Rosen:  Brisbane Roar

Daniel Palmer: Melbourne Victory

Simon Overall: Brisbane Roar


Wooden Spoon:

Cronan Yu: Melbourne Heart

Cam Gordon: Newcastle Jets

David Hards: Newcastle Jets

Laurence Rosen: Newcastle Jets

Daniel Palmer: Wellington Phoenix

Simon Overall: Wellington Phoenix


Best Youngster (Under-21)

Cronan Yu: Connor Pain

Cam Gordon: Louis Fenton

David Hards: Joshua Brilliante

Laurence Rosen: Storm Roux

Daniel Palmer: Connor Pain

Simon Overall: Corey Gamiero


Top Scorer

Cronan Yu: Alessandro Del Piero

Cam Gordon: Besart Berisha

David Hards: Besart Berisha

Laurence Rosen: Kosta Barbarouses

Daniel Palmer: Besart Berisha

Simon Overall: Besart Berisha


Best Coach

Cronan Yu: Tony Popovic

Cam Gordon: Ange Postecoglu

David Hards: Ange Postecoglu

Laurence Rosen:  Ange Postecoglou

Daniel Palmer: Ange Postecoglu

Simon Overall: Mike Mulvey


Best Transfer

Cronan Yu: Isaias Sanchez

Cam Gordon: Kenny Cunningham

David Hards: Harry Kewell

Laurence Rosen: Pablo Contreras

Daniel Palmer: Kosta Barbarouses

Simon Overall: Marcos Flores


Worst Transfer

Cronan Yu: Matt Jurman

Cam Gordon: Liam Reddy

David Hards: Orlando Engelaar (Is it too late to say Ljubo Milicevic?)

Laurence Rosen: Kew Jaliens

Daniel Palmer: Orlando Engelaar (due to injury)

Simon Overall: Harry Kewell


Best Player

Cronan Yu: Alessandro Del Piero

Cam Gordon: Marco Flores

David Hards: Mark Milligan

Laurence Rosen: Shinji Ono

Daniel Palmer: Alessandro Del Piero

Simon Overall: Alessandro Del Piero


Continue the conversation via Twitter: @Cronan_Yu, @hardsy05, @userlastname, @Cambo_Gordon, @MVFCLR22, @SimonOverall