100 A-League Facts – One day at a time

Last week there was only 100 days until the start of the ‘2014/15 Hyundai A-League Season’ so Cameron Kellett has decided to give you 100 pieces of football information you can use to impress friends and family.

Over the course of the next 100 days we will be giving you a NEW fact everyday.

63: Including finals, 244 goals were scored in season one of the A-League

64: Adam Kwasnik scored the 200th goal in the league in round 19, season one.

65: Now retired player, Stewart Petrie, scored the 100th goal in season one Rd 10.

66: Current Joshua Rose, scored former A-League side NZ Knights’ first goal.

67: The leagues leading goal scorer, Archie Thompson, scored first goal.

68: Alex Brosque scored Brisbane Roar’s first goal, formerly known as Queensland Roar.

69: Rostyn Griffiths scored the first goal for former A-League side, North Queensland Fury.

70: Referee Peter O’Leary issued the first red card to Richie Alagich (ADL) in Rd 3 2005-06.

71: Inugural marquee, Dwight Yorke, was the first foreigner to score in the A-League

72: Berisha & Smeltz hold the record 4 the most goals scored during the regular season with 19

73: The tallest player to have played in the league, former GCU GK Scott Higgins – 201cm.

74: Including pre-season, regular season & finals, a total of 79 stadiums have been used.

75: have won the most Fair Play Award’s with 5 times in 9 seasons.

76: Smeltz holds the record for most hat-tricks in the league with 3 – 2 for GCU & 1 for Glory.

77: hold the record for most goals scored in a match with 8 against NQ Fury.

78: striker Archie Thompson holds the record for the most goals in a match with 5.

79: Western Sydney Wanderers FC holds the record for most wins in a row with 10.

80: Coopers Stadium and Suncorp Stadium have hosted the most A-League games with 117 each.

81: Quickest to 40 goals. Smeltz 40/58 Berisha 40/61 Van Dijk 40/72 Thompson 40/80

82: Besart Berisha, holds the record 4 the quickest hat-trick – 5 mins 27 secs.

83: Ante Milicic, scored the 1st hat-trick in the league, playing 4 the Jets against NZ Knights.

84: have never scored earlier than the 84′ in a GF, but have won all three.

85: 77 own goals in 9 seasons. The unfortunate record holder – Rodrigo Vargas 4 own goals.

86: Former A-League side, NZ Knights hold the record for worst goals conceded % – 24.56/75.46.

87:  In 9 seasons of A-League football there have been 2,946 goals scored. Victory most with 376.

88: Current coach Kevin Muscat holds the record for most penalties scored – 25.

89: The current average age of the entire league is 25.27. the lowest with 24.23.

90: have played in the most finals series with seven out nine.

91: 91 players have played 100+ games. Of those 91 players, 27 have started less than 100.

92: Matt Thompson holds the record for most caps with 221 – Newcastle, Heart & Sydney FC.

93: Goals/games played Berisha 48/76 – 63.2% Smeltz 77/135 – 57% ADP 24/48 – 50%

94: Clean sheets/games played Ryan 36/80 – 45% Theo 66/189 – 34.92% Vukovic 66/201 – 32.83%

95: Tony Popovic, has a win % of 53.45%. The highest of all coaches with 50+ caps.

96: In nine seasons, Melbourne Victory have amassed 353 yellow & 23 red cards. The most of all clubs.

97: Central Coast Mariners have won the second most amount of regular season matches with 97.

98: Sergio Van Dijk & Besart Berisha have scored a combined 98 goals, both of whom have played for Brisbane Roar

99: Brisbane Roar have won the most regular season A-League matches – 99 in total.

100: No team in the A-League has notched up 100 regular season wins.

About Cameron Kellett (11 Articles)
Most know me as 'A-League Fanatic' but I'm Cameron. I'm a passionate Brisbane Roar supporter who's dream is to one day become a sports journalist. Very much an opinion writer. Follow on twitter - @ALeagueFanatic
Contact: Twitter