FFA Cup Preview: Bayswater City v Melbourne Victory

Coming off impressive 6-0 and 3-0 wins in their last two hit outs in the WANPL, Bayswater City are set to face A-League heavy weights Melbourne Victory in the round of 32 of the Westfield FFA Cup.

Last years champions, Bayswater City have a history of success in West Australian football and currently sit in first place of the WANPL table with 16 wins.  Coached by former Socceroos and Perth Glory defender Chris Coyne, Bayswater City has dominated the league and has set the high standard in the WANPL.

It is easy to understand why they are so dominant considering the talent they have in the club. The squad includes the former St Johnstone and Huddersfield Town striker David Heagney, Todd Howarth (former Perth Glory), Steve Burton (Doncaster Rovers, Crawley town), and Coyne’s younger brother Jamie (Perth Glory, Sydney FC, Melbourne Heart) and an array of local talent.

As one of WA’s strongest and finest football clubs, with a passionate and large supporter base, the dream of becoming a ‘Giant Killer’ is not that far fetched. Muscat’s men must not take this team lightly or they risk an early exit from the cup race.

This does not seem to be the case though as Victory assistant Jean-Paul de Maringny was spotted at Bayswater City’s 5-0 thrashing of Subiaco just weeks ago at the very ground the two sides will clash on.

The Victory also look set to bring the star-studded line-up we expect from the form the former A-League champions, with the likes of Gui Finkler and new signing, Besart Berisha expected to fly west for the clash.  Bayswater City however, on their day has the ability to take down any side in the country. If ever there was a ‘minnow’ to go all the way and take out the cup, it’s Bayswater City.

There is quite a buzz around WA football as both teams (Stirling Lions being the other team) from the state drawing A-League clubs in the round of 32.

We can expect a fairly decent crowd at this game even though the game has been moved from Baysie’s much loved home ground of Frank Drago reserve to the WA Athletics Stadium due to FFA requirements.

The Victory has not always travelled well to the west and will find this trip no easier than any previous.

One certainty from this match will be that Baysie will leave nothing on the pitch.  The club, the team and the vocal supporters are ready and raring to go in what could be the first big step into greatness.


Bayswater City: 1. Devon Spence (GK), 2. Declan Hargreaves, 3. Adam Bachiller, 4. John Kearney, 5. Andy Reale, 6. Todd Howarth, 7.Hasan El Yassiri, 8. Paul McCarthy, 9. Gustavo Giron Maralunda, 10. Damien Catalano, 12. Steve Burton, 13. Trent Kay (C), 15. Brian Farrell, 16. Jamie Coyne,

17. Sahr Musa, 18. James Isaia, 20. Sam Mitchinson, 21. David Heagney, 23. Chris Saldaris.

Melbourne Victory: 1. Nathan Coe, 2. Jason Geria, 4. Nick Ansell, 5. Mark Milligan (C), 6. Leigh Broxham, 7. Gui Finkler, 8. Besart Berisha, 9. Kosta Barbarouses, 10. Archie Thompson, 11. Connor Pain, 13. Andrew Nabbout, 16. Rashid Mahazi, 17. Matthieu Delpierre, 18. Dylan Murnane, 20. Lawrence Thomas, 21. Carl Valeri, 22. Jesse Makarounas, 23. Adrian Leijer, 24. Scott Galloway, 26. Jordan Brown.